Natalia Pastor Pearce
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:27
Member (2023)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Mar 12

Hi all!
I've been freelancing for around 9 months now and have come across the issue (several times) that there seems to be no sustainable way to let agencies know my availability for work. I started off using the Proz calendar and linking it in my email signature and on all profiles, and updated it religiously throughout the day, every day. It got completely ignored. Since then, I've been setting an email autoresponder saying that my schedule is currently full or that I'm unavailable for
... See more
Hi all!
I've been freelancing for around 9 months now and have come across the issue (several times) that there seems to be no sustainable way to let agencies know my availability for work. I started off using the Proz calendar and linking it in my email signature and on all profiles, and updated it religiously throughout the day, every day. It got completely ignored. Since then, I've been setting an email autoresponder saying that my schedule is currently full or that I'm unavailable for work, but as many clients use XTRF or other automated platforms, they're not getting my autoresponder until they chase up requests via email, which of course could make me look unreliable/unresponsive in the long term.
Any advice on how to navigate this without having to update every agency's internal calendar every single time I can't take new requests (it'd take up a considerable amount of time and limit my flexibility!)?
I'd be grateful for any suggestions
Collapse

Christopher Schröder
Christopher Schröder
United Kingdom
Member (2011)
Swedish to English
+ ...
By email Mar 12

Simply reply to each job offer that you can't take it. You can't get that many.

Lieven Malaise
Kristopher Brame
finnword1
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
expressisverbis
Kuochoe Nikoi-Kotei
Philip Lees

Natalia Pastor Pearce
Natalia Pastor Pearce
United Kingdom
Member (2023)
Spanish to English
+ ...