tmx formats
Thread poster: vajtarget
vajtarget
vajtarget
Spain
Local time: 13:39
English to Spanish
Jun 4, 2012

Hello! I am a bit brand new user of Cat tools. I have some doubts in how to open a tmx file. Don't really know the programme I need. And how to use it. Thanks a lot.

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
@Vaj Jun 4, 2012

vajtarget wrote more or less:
I am new to CAT tools. I don't know how to open a TMX file in OmegaT.

If you just want to see the contents of a TMX file, use Virtaal (not affiliated to OmegaT).

If you want to use the TMX file in OmegaT, simply create a new project from within OmegaT, which will create a project folder for you, and then copy the TMX file to the /tm/ subfolder or the /tm/auto/ subfolder of the newly created project folder.

Where did you get the TMX file?

vajtarget
vajtarget
Spain
English to Spanish
TOPIC STARTER
tmx formats Jun 4, 2012

I might not have explain correctly what I want to know. I have a PC and when I create a final document in Omegat I don't have the programme to open it. There is a note that reads TMX file. Which programme do I need to open these files? Thanks for your quick answer.

lidija68
lidija68  Identity Verified
Italy
Italian to Serbian
+ ...
final document Jun 5, 2012

I didn't quite understand what do you want to do with .tmx file. If you just want to see what is written there, you can open it with wordpad, notepad++ or similar.

Final document in OmegaT is usually placed in the folder "target", has an .odt extension and you can open it with Open Office.

- english is not my working language -

[Modificato alle 2012-06-05 08:37 GMT]

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
No need to open the TMX file Jun 5, 2012

vajtarget wrote: