Exchanging or Transferring WORDFAST Database Files via E-mail or Other Electronic Means
Thread poster: Terry Burgess
Terry Burgess
Terry Burgess  Identity Verified
Mexico
Local time: 08:01
Spanish to English
+ ...
Aug 23, 2003

I'm somewhat ashamed to so openly admit I've only just begun using Wordfast...hence, I'm a total novice in the field. Though I downloaded the "Beta" version quite some time ago, my inherent laziness --plus a lack of translation work -- didn't exactly motivate me to try it out:-( ---until now!

3 days ago, a colleague here in Mexico City asked me to help him out with a sizeable and fairly urgent translation job. Knowing that we both had Wordfast [the same Beta version] and that he h
... See more
I'm somewhat ashamed to so openly admit I've only just begun using Wordfast...hence, I'm a total novice in the field. Though I downloaded the "Beta" version quite some time ago, my inherent laziness --plus a lack of translation work -- didn't exactly motivate me to try it out:-( ---until now!

3 days ago, a colleague here in Mexico City asked me to help him out with a sizeable and fairly urgent translation job. Knowing that we both had Wordfast [the same Beta version] and that he had already accumulated an extensive memory of the required terms in his Wordfast database, he e-mailed me his Wordfast "text memory" hoping it would speed things up and make "our" translation more uniform. The "text memory" attachment to his e-mail arrived in "Notebook" format. I first saved it in the folder with the files to be translated and I then added it to the Wordfast setup as the "Current Translation Memory"--with all the correct paths, etc.