Passolo - pros and cons
Thread poster: cbcoti
cbcoti
cbcoti
Local time: 04:33
English to Danish
Apr 25, 2012

Dear all,

I am new in this community, so forgive me if I'm posting this questions in the wrong place.

I'm a technical writer, working with sofware. Strings are currently translated into 19 languages, using Passolo, help files into 13 languages using Forehelp 5 (our old help authoring tool).

We are going to use MadCap Flare as our new help authoring tool.

Our translators are not professional translators, but experts in the specific field, ou
... See more
Dear all,

I am new in this community, so forgive me if I'm posting this questions in the wrong place.

I'm a technical writer, working with sofware. Strings are currently translated into 19 languages, using Passolo, help files into 13 languages using Forehelp 5 (our old help authoring tool).

We are going to use MadCap Flare as our new help authoring tool.

Our translators are not professional translators, but experts in the specific field, our software is targeting. Thus, I will be the one picking the new translation tool.

The current decision is:

- continue using Passolo for strings
- implementing new tool for translating help files

Is this a good idea? Is it best to have two separate tools? And is Passolo the best tool for translating strings?

Pros and cons?
Collapse

Jody Parente
Jody Parente
Israel
Local time: 05:33
Passolo - Yes! Apr 26, 2012

Passolo is great for your string lists and software files!

You can manage the source project in a single location and then generate all translator bundles for all 19 languages at once. Likewise, you can generate all the target files together, too (not one-by-one).

I've worked on the localization of a bunch of different help authoring tools, but Flare hasn't been one of them. Assuming the file format you need to translate is standard, like HTML, XML, DITA, etc., then you
... See more
Passolo is great for your string lists and software files!