DPSI, or how to get started as an interpretor?
Thread poster: Marion Lambert-Nuding
Marion Lambert-Nuding
Marion Lambert-Nuding  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 04:46
English to French
+ ...
Dec 10, 2013

Hi all,

I've been translating from English into French for nearly 10 years, although I've mostly done it alongside my marketing career so I probably can't boast as many words as a full time translator.

I am seriously interested in interpreting, and I'm looking into the DPSI Law or Health. It's going to take a lot of sorting out, both from a financial and organisational point of view, for me to be able to do this, and I was therefore wondering if anyone could share their
... See more
Hi all,

I've been translating from English into French for nearly 10 years, although I've mostly done it alongside my marketing career so I probably can't boast as many words as a full time translator.

I am seriously interested in interpreting, and I'm looking into the DPSI Law or Health. It's going to take a lot of sorting out, both from a financial and organisational point of view, for me to be able to do this, and I was therefore wondering if anyone could share their experience of it before I throw myself into it.

My first concern is that I have never done any interpreting whatsoever, and I have no experience of law/health. The course coordinator tells me that should not be a problem...

And did it really give your career a boost? How much marketing did it take to find clients? And what is your current opinion of the current issues with the ministry of justice boycott?

Any feedback would be great!
Collapse

Barbara Bonatti Divers
Barbara Bonatti Divers  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
English to Italian
Try it, absolutely! Dec 10, 2013

Hi Marionlam,

I sat the DPSI in 2005. Today I am in the IoL's team of Italian DPSI Assessors/Examiners.
I can give you insight from the candidate's as well as the assessors' point of view.