MetaTexis: Word update, MS access,
Thread poster: Daniel Goldman
Daniel Goldman
Daniel Goldman
Local time: 15:56
German to English
Feb 4, 2004

Greetings,
I am new to CAT, and MetaTexis is the first tool I'm trying. I read in another forum that alot of people complained that MetaTexis often requires users to download a MS office update to fix a buggy WORD program. I have no problems with this - in fact I was glad that the program confirmed my suspicions. I followed MetaTexis' instructions and now the demo works fine.
I do however have a few questions. What is MS Runtime Access, and how do I know if I have it installed
... See more
Greetings,
I am new to CAT, and MetaTexis is the first tool I'm trying. I read in another forum that alot of people complained that MetaTexis often requires users to download a MS office update to fix a buggy WORD program. I have no problems with this - in fact I was glad that the program confirmed my suspicions. I followed MetaTexis' instructions and now the demo works fine.
I do however have a few questions. What is MS Runtime Access, and how do I know if I have it installed on my computer? This question arises because MetaTexis' Translation Memory is supposed to give you three databases to choose from: type 1, type 2a and type 2b. Type 1 requires MS Access; the other two don't. On my computer however, only type 1 is available. The other two options are inactive. Can anyone help me out here? Thanks,
-Diver
Collapse

Daniel Goldman
Daniel Goldman
Local time: 15:56
German to English
TOPIC STARTER
Question has been answered by developer Feb 4, 2004

Greetings,
Before anyone else bothers answering this, I'd like to inform you that Mr. Bruns, the software developer answered the question (very promptly) in response to an email which I sent to him on the subject. I assume he has nothing against my quoting his answer. He wrote:
"If type 1 is available and selectable, type 1 will work! (This means,