Lucia Messuti
Lucia Messuti  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 07:25
English to Italian
+ ...
Jan 16, 2016

Hello Collegues,
I've the latest version of WF PRO and I've been using for many years.

Now, I've seen there are other CAT tools which have an interesting feature, the assemply of fragments. It means they keep in mind previous translations and, if there are no fuzzy matches, the system translates it using previous translations and termbases.

Do you know if this feature will be present in next WF 4 ?

Thanks
Lucia

Dominique Pivard
Dominique Pivard  Identity Verified
Local time: 08:25
Finnish to French
"Assembly" limited to terminology Jan 16, 2016

Wordfast Pro 3 and 4 have a limited assembly feature, that only works with terminology. You can see it in my First steps with Wordfast Pro 4 video (it’s between 6:15 and 6:45).

Wordfast Pro 3/4 will not assemble from segments (or subsegments) from your TMs. If you are interested in such a feature, you should look at Déjà Vu, memoQ or CafeTran. Trados doesn’t do it either, btw.

Yasmin Moslem
Yasmin Moslem  Identity Verified
Egypt
Local time: 08:25
English to Arabic
Perform TM Lookup automatically Jan 29, 2016

Dear Lucia,

I believe you might be also already aware of the option "Perform TM Lookup automatically" at "Edit" menu > "Preferences" > "Translation Memory". Every time you move to a segment using either Ctrl+Down or the mouse, you will see all its words in the TM Lookup textbox which will be automatically searched.

However, this does not insert or assemble results for you. You can select the result you like or just a part of it and press Alt+F12 to insert it into the ta
... See more
Dear Lucia,

I believe you might be also already aware of the option "Perform TM Lookup automatically" at "Edit" menu > "Preferences" > "Translation Memory". Every time you move to a segment using either Ctrl+Down or the mouse, you will see all its words in the TM Lookup textbox which will be automatically searched.