Kristel Kiesel
Kristel Kiesel  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 17:03
Italian to English
+ ...
Jul 22, 2006

Hello,

I'm brand new to Proz and to the field of freelance translation. I have to choose shortly between XP Pro and XP Home for my laptop, and I'm wondering if there are clear advantages to having one or the other for the purposes of freelance translating. My laptop has been somewhat finicky since installing XP Pro, and I'm just wondering if it's worth it to keep it. Can someone advise me?

Looking forward to reading your answers,

Kristie

Fernando Toledo
Fernando Toledo  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 23:03
German to Spanish
If you need Jul 22, 2006

interactivity with a LAN in your workplace, with servers, etc. PRO is the best option, for all people working at home with one or two PCS, Home is OK.

I don't see any other difference

Regards

Lucinda Hollenberg
Lucinda Hollenberg  Identity Verified
Local time: 18:03
Dutch to English
+ ...
I use the Home version Jul 22, 2006

Hi Kristel,

I have the Home version and do everything with it. It works fine. I agree with Fernando that you would probably only need the PRO one if you use LANs and perhaps very extensive graphics, etc.

I bought my laptop and the Home system in the US in August last year and am very pleased with it. Please feel free to write me privately if you need more details. I am not sure that I am allowed to publish these here publicly.

Have a great weekend.
... See more
Hi Kristel,

I have the Home version and do everything with it. It works fine. I agree with Fernando that you would probably only need the PRO one if you use LANs and perhaps very extensive graphics, etc.

I bought my laptop and the Home system in the US in August last year and am very pleased with it. Please feel free to write me privately if you need more details. I am not sure that I am allowed to publish these here publicly.

Have a great weekend.
Lucinda
Collapse

Jerzy Czopik