Thread poster: Sonja Tomaskovic (X)
Sonja Tomaskovic (X)
Sonja Tomaskovic (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 03:15
English to German
+ ...
Nov 10, 2005

I am currently in the process of "cleaning" my harddisc from anything that I don't need. I have already removed all software that I don't need and will backup a couple of old project files.

Since I have never done that before on any of my computers, I was wondering if compressing the drive to save space is a safe and risk-free procedure, or if there is anything that I should take care of before starting that procedure.

Is it actually worth doing? How much space can you
... See more
I am currently in the process of "cleaning" my harddisc from anything that I don't need. I have already removed all software that I don't need and will backup a couple of old project files.

Since I have never done that before on any of my computers, I was wondering if compressing the drive to save space is a safe and risk-free procedure, or if there is anything that I should take care of before starting that procedure.

Is it actually worth doing? How much space can you actually save my compressing the harddrive?

Thanks,

Sonja
Collapse

Daniele Martoglio
Daniele Martoglio  Identity Verified
Polish to Italian
+ ...
It's not worth doing Nov 10, 2005

Sonja Tomaskovic wrote:

Is it actually worth doing? How much space can you actually save my compressing the harddrive?

It's not worth doing.

- may be the data use around 1/2 space, but work with hard disk will be SLOWER with compressed data.

- such data as IMAGE and FILM are already compressed, so they use nearly the same space in compressed disk.

- if you computer as a problem, and u have a NON compressed disk, it's possibile take away your hard disk, and put in one other computer, and u have access to your data. with compressed disk problems may appear.