Entering Arabic into Word
Thread poster: mujie96
mujie96
mujie96
Arabic to English
Sep 27, 2004

I'm translating a web page into Arabic for a friend who uses Frontpage. I have WindowsXP Pro, in English, an English keyboard, and Microsoft Office 2000. What programs or add-ons can I use to create the document in Arabic? I have no knowledge of Arabic software other than SATTS so if I'm overlooking something obvious,please tell me.

Stephen Franke
Stephen Franke
United States
Local time: 08:14
English to Arabic
+ ...
Arabic Bidirectional Support insde MS Windows and MS Office Suite Sep 27, 2004

Greetings.. ahalan wa sahalan...

Re your post on < proz.com > about into-Arabic typing.

1. Forget SATTS (diabolical invention from Fort Meade and Goodfellow).

2. Arabic bidirectional support is included in the basic CD of your MS Windows 2000 or XP (Win XP is much superior and more reliable for multilingual support), so you do NOT need to buy extra software (watch out for some of the online snake oil hustlers).

Here's the basic drill:
... See more
Greetings.. ahalan wa sahalan...

Re your post on < proz.com > about into-Arabic typing.

1. Forget SATTS (diabolical invention from Fort Meade and Goodfellow).

2. Arabic bidirectional support is included in the basic CD of your MS Windows 2000 or XP (Win XP is much superior and more reliable for multilingual support), so you do NOT need to buy extra software (watch out for some of the online snake oil hustlers).

Here's the basic drill:

Start => Control panel => Regional and Language Settings => Languages => add language (you should see a box where to click about installing Asian / Oriental and right-to-left languages) => dropdown list of languages appears => Arabic (select [ Arabic, Saudi ], as the other dialects listed do not have as complete support) **AND** select & add Arabic keyboard settings.