Discussion: Do translators like to work with an agency that ask for a sample
Thread poster: MttMortensen
MttMortensen
MttMortensen  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 09:56
Jul 30, 2019

Hello,

I work as a Vendor Manger for an LSP, and recently i have been updating our sample process and how we can test and record a translator's skill level. Currently, any new vendor is required to provide translation on a sample of ours that is less than 250 words. We ask that these samples be Pro Bono since this will be one of the deciding factors on choosing translators for projects (we look at other areas as well, timeliness, professionalism, etc.).

My questions,
... See more
Hello,

I work as a Vendor Manger for an LSP, and recently i have been updating our sample process and how we can test and record a translator's skill level. Currently, any new vendor is required to provide translation on a sample of ours that is less than 250 words. We ask that these samples be Pro Bono since this will be one of the deciding factors on choosing translators for projects (we look at other areas as well, timeliness, professionalism, etc.).

My questions, or really wanting to know the other side is how do translators feel about the sample request? I can understand it can be frustrating, especially if you're a senior translator who has been in the industry 15+ years. Few other questions that also come up are; Should a sample be asked for upon each new vendor? Or when a client specifically asks for one? Should the vendor in question provide their own sample or complete one of ours? And finally, what are some ways you would prefer to have sample graded/reviewed? By another translator? Or maybe even an agency?

Again, i'm trying to get a different perspective on this topic. I've had a lot of vendors refuse sample requests and even any further collaboration with our company. Any comments, thoughts or questions would be appreciated.

Best,
Collapse

Richard Purdom