https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_in_canada/211151-can_a_spanish_sworn_translator_make_a_translation_for_the_canadian_embassy.html&phpv_redirected=1

Can a Spanish sworn translator make a translation for the Canadian embassy?
Thread poster: transpania
transpania
transpania
English to Spanish
Nov 2, 2011

I am a Spanish sworn translator and I have a doubt regarding the territories where I am authorized to make my translations. I have a client who has sent me some documents to translate, and he needs these translations to be sumbitted to the Canadian embassy. I am not sure if they are going to accept the sworn translations made by a Spanish translator, since I am supposed to be authorized to make both direct and inverse translations, but just within the Spanish territory.

I would be r
... See more
I am a Spanish sworn translator and I have a doubt regarding the territories where I am authorized to make my translations. I have a client who has sent me some documents to translate, and he needs these translations to be sumbitted to the Canadian embassy. I am not sure if they are going to accept the sworn translations made by a Spanish translator, since I am supposed to be authorized to make both direct and inverse translations, but just within the Spanish territory.

I would be really grateful if someone could give me some advice.

Thanks,

Olga
Collapse

Ewa Olszowa
Ewa Olszowa  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 20:02
Polish to English
+ ...
Check at the Embassy Nov 3, 2011

Hi,
The best option would be to check with the Embassy itself. It will all depend what are the documents for and what are the requirements with regard to a translator.
For example: Polish consulate in Toronto requires the translations to be done by translator certified in Canada; for some documents, however, they require translation by a sworn translator (sworn in Poland), or translation by a translator certified in Canada and then confirmed by a sworn translator.

Regard
... See more
Hi,