arcanjp
arcanjp
Canada
Local time: 11:19
Japanese to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 17, 2011

Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, please bear with me. I've been browsing the site for quite a while and found lots of good info, so first of all, thank you for making such a great portal

A little about me: I'm currently residing in Japan but next year I plan to move to Canada (Toronto). At present, besides having a full-time job in HR, I work as a freelance translator, mainly doing Japanese English and Japan
... See more
Hi all,

I'm a newbie here, please bear with me. I've been browsing the site for quite a while and found lots of good info, so first of all, thank you for making such a great portal

A little about me: I'm currently residing in Japan but next year I plan to move to Canada (Toronto). At present, besides having a full-time job in HR, I work as a freelance translator, mainly doing Japanese English and Japanese < > Spanish translations. I also do English Spanish when there's a request.

When I move to Canada, I'm thinking of studying at the University of Toronto to obtain the Certificate in Translation (English-Spanish), and also work towards getting ATIO's certification as a translator.

I have the following questions:
- Is it advisable to do get both certificates? (I guess it is, but I'd like to hear from people already in the industry in Toronto)
- Furthermore, do I also need CTTIC's certificate?
- How prestigious /well-recognized is U of T's Certificate in Translation?
- Is there any place I can find Translators' sample CVs adapted to Canadian standards?

That's all for now.

Thanks for your time and advice!
Collapse

Soula Kokotinis
Soula Kokotinis
Canada
Member (2010)
French to English
+ ...
These are 2 different credentials Jan 23, 2011

Hi there and welcome! I am relatively new here as a member as well but I have been around the translation world for quite some time.