https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_in_canada/185878-how_to_launch_a_freelance_translator_in_toronto.html&phpv_redirected=1

How to launch a freelance translator in Toronto?
Thread poster: AndreiDirgilev
AndreiDirgilev
AndreiDirgilev
Canada
Local time: 08:37
Russian to English
+ ...
Nov 20, 2010

I am a new-comer to Canada and I would like to earn bread and butter here by doing translations at home.
I have a linguistic background and I have worked for 10 years at a Trucks Repair Company translating and interpreting in the office. But I have no experience as a freelance translator.
Please, give some good advice what I can start with...

Riadh Muslih (X)
Riadh Muslih (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 05:37
Arabic to English
+ ...
Get acclimatized first Nov 22, 2010

I would suggest that you first settle down in your adopted country. Get to know the people, the language as it is spoken in Canada, the culture (a languages is a representation and expression of a culture). You need to understand the culture, what do Canadians mean when they say something, etc. English is a very dynamic language, and different countries and regions may speak it and mean it differently. Translation is not simply knowing the vocabulary in each language as in the dictionary o... See more
I would suggest that you first settle down in your adopted country. Get to know the people, the language as it is spoken in Canada, the culture (a languages is a representation and expression of a culture). You need to understand the culture, what do Canadians mean when they say something, etc. English is a very dynamic language, and different countries and regions may speak it and mean it differently. Translation is not simply knowing the vocabulary in each language as in the dictionary or on line. You need to know what is really meant by the speaker or writer in that particular region.