https://www.proz.com/forum/translation_in_canada/180761-rate_for_1st_trans_cookbook.html&phpv_redirected=1

Rate for 1st trans: cookbook
Thread poster: kmadonia
kmadonia
kmadonia
Italy
Local time: 06:29
Italian to English
Sep 19, 2010

Hello,

I am not a certified translator, but a Canadian living in Italy, fluent in both languages. I have a degree in Literary Studies from the University of Toronto, as well as a Bachelor of Education (to teach Secondary School) and am also a decent, precise writer.

Recently I got an offer to translate a cookbook written by a woman who owns a bed & breakfast/ restaurant in Italy (in another region--I live in Sicily). My brother has gotten to know this woman by
... See more
Hello,

I am not a certified translator, but a Canadian living in Italy, fluent in both languages. I have a degree in Literary Studies from the University of Toronto, as well as a Bachelor of Education (to teach Secondary School) and am also a decent, precise writer.

Recently I got an offer to translate a cookbook written by a woman who owns a bed & breakfast/ restaurant in Italy (in another region--I live in Sicily). My brother has gotten to know this woman by working at her establishment this summer--this is how I got the referral.

The book is quite a nice one, with high production value. Therefore, I am assuming that she will want to distribute the book in English speaking countries, and not just at her B & B.

Not having any experience as a translator, I am unsure of how much I should ask for. I'm not sure if I should charge per word, or in some other way. Obviously, I will want to charge her less than a professional translator would, due to my lack of certification/ schooling in the field.

Any advice would be much appreciated. If the suggestions are in CDN $, I will have to translate that into EUR.

I look forward to jumping into my first project. Thank you!
Collapse

Evans (X)
Evans (X)
Local time: 05:29
Spanish to English
+ ...