Thread poster: Sofía A.C.
Sofía A.C.
Sofía A.C.
Local time: 12:51
English to Spanish
+ ...
Jan 24, 2010

Hello everyone,

I am a Spanish translator thinking about moving to Canada this year. My language pairs are English-Spanish, French-Spanish and Japanese-Spanish, and I am also an English sworn translator/interpreter appointed by the MAEC (Spanish Foreign Office). I am looking for any information regarding job opportunities in the translating/interpreting field, specially in big cities such as Ottawa, Québec, Vancouver or Toronto.

Is it essential to a member of the Can
... See more
Hello everyone,

I am a Spanish translator thinking about moving to Canada this year. My language pairs are English-Spanish, French-Spanish and Japanese-Spanish, and I am also an English sworn translator/interpreter appointed by the MAEC (Spanish Foreign Office). I am looking for any information regarding job opportunities in the translating/interpreting field, specially in big cities such as Ottawa, Québec, Vancouver or Toronto.

Is it essential to a member of the Canadian Translators and Interpreters Council to work for a translation agency? Do you know any Spanish translator who is working either for an agency/company or as a freelance in Canada? As I have noticed, it is very difficult to be sponsored by a company in order to get a working visa from Spain, but there might be some ways I am unaware of...

I would be very grateful for any advice or help you may provide me.

Best regards,

Sofía Álvarez Conde
Collapse

Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT
Tomás Cano Binder, BA, CT  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 12:51
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Canadian certification Jan 24, 2010

I reckon a wise move would be to seek certification in the Canadian translation associations. You have more information here. Although it is not a must to be certified, I reckon, it might open a lot of doors.

Aguas de Mar (X)
Aguas de Mar (X)
My experience... Jan 24, 2010