Use imported database in Swordfish
Thread poster: CaroleTrad
Nov 30, 2010

Hi,

I'm a student and I had started a translation at Uni on Trados. Then once home, I've imported the tmx translation memory into my swordfish database in order to finish my translation.

BUT when I open my file (xliff), although I try to use the concordance and/or context search, nothing appears.
It looks like I have to start again my translation as if there were no imported database.

Why?
Is there any equivalence in swordfish to the fuzzy searc
... See more
Hi,

I'm a student and I had started a translation at Uni on Trados. Then once home, I've imported the tmx translation memory into my swordfish database in order to finish my translation.

BUT when I open my file (xliff), although I try to use the concordance and/or context search, nothing appears.
It looks like I have to start again my translation as if there were no imported database.

Why?
Is there any equivalence in swordfish to the fuzzy search (available on trados)?
Is that because I've exported my translation memory in twx 1.4? Do I have to export it in 1.1?
By the way (2nd question): Which of the two versions is the most advised?

Thank you for helping me - I'm stuck! (and I don't feel like starting again my whole text!)
Carole
Collapse

Laurent KRAULAND (X)
Laurent KRAULAND (X)  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 11:34
French to German
+ ...
Have you tried... Nov 30, 2010

the option which says "Apply TM to all segments" or something like that?

Also and when you converted the file to .XLIFF, did you change the segmentation rules to Trados segmentation?

PS: personally, I don't think this has anything to do with the .TMX version used.

[Modifié le 2010-11-30 11:20 GMT]

Rodolfo Raya
Rodolfo Raya  Identity Verified
Local time: 07:34
English to Spanish
Language codes Nov 30, 2010

Hi,