Thread poster: Soledad Azcona
Soledad Azcona
Soledad Azcona  Identity Verified
Brazil
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 12, 2007

Hi there!

Today talking with Kaltya about how confusing might the situation turn when one is attempting the first steps in this profession, I remembered something I read when I was a student. It was a paragraph by Lanna Castellano quoted by Mona Baker in her book "In other words". I found it again, and I would like to share it with you:

"Our profession is based on knowledge and experience. It has the longest apprenticeship of any profession. Not until thirty do you star
... See more
Hi there!

Today talking with Kaltya about how confusing might the situation turn when one is attempting the first steps in this profession, I remembered something I read when I was a student. It was a paragraph by Lanna Castellano quoted by Mona Baker in her book "In other words". I found it again, and I would like to share it with you:

"Our profession is based on knowledge and experience. It has the longest apprenticeship of any profession. Not until thirty do you start to be useful as a translator, not until fifty do you start to be in your prime.
The first stage of the career pyramid –the apprenticeship stage– is the time we devote to investing in ourselves by acquiring knowledge and experience of life. Let me propose a life path: grandparents of different nationalities, a good school education in which you learn to read, write, spell, construe and love your own language. Then roam the world, make friends, see life. Go back to education, but to take a technical or commercial degree, not a language degree. Spend the rest of your twenties and your early thirties in the countries whose languages you speak, working in industry or commerce but not directly in languages. Never marry into your own nationality. Have your children. Then back to a postgraduate course. A staff job as a translator, and then go freelance. By which time you are forty and ready to begin."