Student users-only topic

Student Interpreter
Thread poster: MYRAVAN
MYRAVAN
MYRAVAN
United States
Sep 4, 2015

Hello!

This is my first year in the program for Interpreter and Translation. Translating documents is one of the biggest challenges I'm facing. Obviously translating verbatim doesn't send a clear message. When I'm struggling, I translate the entire sentence verbatim, then move words around or search for synonyms that best fits into the context. The other thing I do is sleep on it, clear my head but this requires too much time. Are there any suggestions or tips I can get about transl
... See more
Hello!

This is my first year in the program for Interpreter and Translation. Translating documents is one of the biggest challenges I'm facing. Obviously translating verbatim doesn't send a clear message. When I'm struggling, I translate the entire sentence verbatim, then move words around or search for synonyms that best fits into the context. The other thing I do is sleep on it, clear my head but this requires too much time. Are there any suggestions or tips I can get about translating documents?
Collapse

jyuan_us
jyuan_us  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 01:06
Member (2005)
English to Chinese
+ ...
Are you translating into your native language? Sep 4, 2015

MYRAVAN wrote:

Hello!

This is my first year in the program for Interpreter and Translation. Translating documents is one of the biggest challenges I'm facing. Obviously translating verbatim doesn't send a clear message. When I'm struggling, I translate the entire sentence verbatim, then move words around or search for synonyms that best fits into the context. The other thing I do is sleep on it, clear my head but this requires too much time. Are there any suggestions or tips I can get about translating documents?