https://www.proz.com/forum/studentz_forum/171338-ssml_gregorio_vii_v_ssml_carlo_bo.html&phpv_redirected=1

Student users-only topic

SSML Gregorio VII v. SSML Carlo Bo
Thread poster: nmarino
May 19, 2010

Hello all.

I am an undergraduate senior who will graduate with a dual BA in Italian and English literature next June. I've been looking into translation graduate programs and it seems that there are not that many American universities that regularly offer Italian to English translation as a course of study, as compared to Spanish to English, French to English, etc. Therefore I have been considering programs in the UK and in Italy, and obviously given a choice between the two I would
... See more
Hello all.

I am an undergraduate senior who will graduate with a dual BA in Italian and English literature next June. I've been looking into translation graduate programs and it seems that there are not that many American universities that regularly offer Italian to English translation as a course of study, as compared to Spanish to English, French to English, etc. Therefore I have been considering programs in the UK and in Italy, and obviously given a choice between the two I would choose a program in Italy, preferably in Rome.

My question is why there is such a large difference between the cost of a Master degree at SSML Gregorio VII and SSML Carlo Bo? Is it a question of the quality of the degree or the reputation of the school? My Italian is by no means perfect yet, but from what I could gather from their respective websites it seems that the former costs around €1.000 while the latter is between about €3.000 and €5.000, depending I believe upon the income of the student or perhaps the family, I cannot tell which. In any case I am not at the moment an Italian citizen but I expect to become one by the time of attendance by means of Jure Sanguinis as my grandparents are dual citizens.