Drastic reduction in Dragon's performance
Thread poster: Marie-Hélène Hayles
Marie-Hélène Hayles
Marie-Hélène Hayles  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:44
Italian to English
+ ...
Oct 26, 2009

I'm a complete newbie with Dragon - I bought and installed DNS 10 preferred last Thursday. I'm using it with the Plantronics Calisto Bluetooth headset.

On Thursday I ran through the various installation wizards (using the default settings as suggested for newbies) and a couple of general training modules, and I was away. Sure, it had a few problems with various technical terms, but basically it was working fine. Friday was also fine.
But I tried using it today and it was a tot
... See more
I'm a complete newbie with Dragon - I bought and installed DNS 10 preferred last Thursday. I'm using it with the Plantronics Calisto Bluetooth headset.

On Thursday I ran through the various installation wizards (using the default settings as suggested for newbies) and a couple of general training modules, and I was away. Sure, it had a few problems with various technical terms, but basically it was working fine. Friday was also fine.
But I tried using it today and it was a total disaster!
I've tried rebooting my computer, re-completing the audio wizard, as this morning it told me for some strange reason that I hadn't run through the Audio settings check (I had, but I did it again anyway, using the same default as it told me to the first time), going through more training (including one of the same ones I did last week - I couldn't even make it to the end of the module, as it didn't understand a word I was saying), and running the acoustic and language optimiser. To give you an idea how bad it still is:

What I said: help with dragon What it wrote: The and
What I said: dragon is not working properly What it wrote: will tell you
What I said: I have run through the general training What it wrote: in the early