speech recognition tool
Thread poster: raniaelmaraghy
raniaelmaraghy
raniaelmaraghy
Local time: 15:39
English to Arabic
Jun 16, 2008

Hello. I'm new to speech recognition tools so i need ur help. I'd like to record some texts for the visually impaired and send them in any audio file format like mp3. Is that possible? It is a pro bono work and i can't afford buying expensive software. I need a free tool. Do u know any?
Thanks.

Heike Behl, Ph.D.
Heike Behl, Ph.D.  Identity Verified
Ireland
Local time: 13:39
Member (2003)
English to German
+ ...
recording software Jun 16, 2008

Speech recognition usually refers to tools that convert spoken language into written language.

From your description, it looks like you need recording software.
You could try a free program called Audacity, a very useful tool for recording and editing sound files. You can export recordings as MP3 and other audio formats.

There are also a number of not too expensive MP3 players with recording functions. I have used an iRiver player in the past for audio recordings
... See more
Speech recognition usually refers to tools that convert spoken language into written language.

From your description, it looks like you need recording software.
You could try a free program called Audacity, a very useful tool for recording and editing sound files. You can export recordings as MP3 and other audio formats.

There are also a number of not too expensive MP3 players with recording functions. I have used an iRiver player in the past for audio recordings of very high quality.

For the best sound quality, you probably need an external microphone for the computer or the MP3 player.
Collapse

Mykhailo Voloshko
Mykhailo Voloshko  Identity Verified
Ukraine
Local time: 15:39
Member (2008)
English to Russian
+ ...
voice engines Jun 16, 2008

As far as I know voice engines are not usually free.

Damian Harrison (X)
Damian Harrison (X)
Germany
Local time: 14:39
German to English
Some suggestions Jun 16, 2008