Different languages for Dragon Naturally Speaking?
Thread poster: John Cutler
John Cutler
John Cutler  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:52
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 9, 2008

Hi, I hope this doesn't sound like a silly question. I was wondering if Dragon Naturally Speaking works based on the target language you want to use? What I mean is, are there different versions for different languages?

If I translate into English, do I need to buy an English version of the program? I suppose it's obvious by now that I'm a newbie at CAT tools

Before buying it, I'd also like to know any o
... See more
Hi, I hope this doesn't sound like a silly question. I was wondering if Dragon Naturally Speaking works based on the target language you want to use? What I mean is, are there different versions for different languages?

If I translate into English, do I need to buy an English version of the program? I suppose it's obvious by now that I'm a newbie at CAT tools

Before buying it, I'd also like to know any of the particular advantages and disadvantages there are to using it. Are there many worthwhile differences between the standard and preferred versions?

Thanks for any pointers!

John
Collapse

Margreet Logmans (X)
Margreet Logmans (X)  Identity Verified
Netherlands
English to Dutch
+ ...
Not a CAT May 9, 2008

Hi John,

Dragon is not a CAT
It's simply a writing tool. It does not have a translation memory.

Yes, you can have multiple languages, but you have to set up a separate user account for each.
Not sure about all the languages, though. I very much doubt whether Catalan is supported, for example. I think English is pretty much default.

Yes, there are differences between standard and p
... See more
Hi John,

Dragon is not a CAT
It's simply a writing tool. It does not have a translation memory.

Yes, you can have multiple languages, but you have to set up a separate user account for each.