Is it a good idea to buy Multiterm extract and Autosuggest creator when purchasing Studio 2014?
Thread poster: Kate Deimling
Kate Deimling
Kate Deimling
United States
Local time: 11:12
French to English
+ ...
Mar 21, 2014

Hi,

I'm new to CAT tools and am about to purchase Trados Studio 2014. The website is encouraging me to purchase Multiterm and Autosuggest at the same time for a discount. It seems to me that these are pretty essential features in order to benefit from the CAT tool (and I didn't realize I had to buy them separately), but I just wanted to confirm that with forum members instead of automatically clicking on "add to cart." These features are pretty important, right? Thanks for your inpu
... See more
Hi,

I'm new to CAT tools and am about to purchase Trados Studio 2014. The website is encouraging me to purchase Multiterm and Autosuggest at the same time for a discount. It seems to me that these are pretty essential features in order to benefit from the CAT tool (and I didn't realize I had to buy them separately), but I just wanted to confirm that with forum members instead of automatically clicking on "add to cart." These features are pretty important, right? Thanks for your input!
Collapse

Christine Andersen
Christine Andersen  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 17:12
Member (2003)
Danish to English
+ ...
Definitely go for Multiterm and AutoSuggest Mar 21, 2014

As far as I am concerned, Multiterm and AutoSuggest are the main reasons for using Trados Studio.
Along with the so-called concordance feature, where you can find words and expressions in context and se how a particular client uses them, or find all sorts of references from earlier work.

While the repeats and fuzzy matches - whole sentences - are sometimes helpful and sometimes not, depending on the kind of document you are translating, Multiterm in particular is extremely use
... See more
As far as I am concerned, Multiterm and AutoSuggest are the main reasons for using Trados Studio.