Thread poster: Glenda Janssen
Glenda Janssen
Glenda Janssen  Identity Verified
Local time: 00:59
English to Italian
+ ...
Jul 7, 2011

Hello all!

I have been on Proz for about 9 years now, and I must confess I just now started to use the forums. I'm so glad to have found the forums, because I am learning about the business by leaps and bounds!

Sorry if this question has already been addressed here, but I searched the archives for a while, and came up with a gigantic amount of returns, none of which seemed to specifically answer this.

In short: I have been translating since 1995, on and off
... See more
Hello all!

I have been on Proz for about 9 years now, and I must confess I just now started to use the forums. I'm so glad to have found the forums, because I am learning about the business by leaps and bounds!

Sorry if this question has already been addressed here, but I searched the archives for a while, and came up with a gigantic amount of returns, none of which seemed to specifically answer this.

In short: I have been translating since 1995, on and off. I completed several projects when I was in Europe, and all those have been lost in the mist of time. When I came to the United States, I took on a few jobs through Proz. Then I got hired as an interpreter, so I was very busy doing that, and, at the same time, translation rates for my languages plummeted from about $0.25 to $0.07 (I have a feeling Trados is to blame for that). Also, it seemed that most jobs posted required at least some sort of a college degree. Now that I have a B.A. and ten years' experience as an interpreter, as well as a schedule better-suited to translation, I am trying to get a regular stream of translation work in.

But I have no samples or portfolio. Every job I did was either too long ago, and thus lost, or is recent, but bound to confidentiality agreements.