Thread poster: Eloisa Aquino
Eloisa Aquino
Eloisa Aquino  Identity Verified
Local time: 12:41
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Jan 24, 2011

Hey guys,

I am a very experienced translator. In December, due to the loss of a major client, I decided to go Pro in this website. I apply to jobs every single day. At first, I cut my tariff in 25%, now it's less than half, and yet, nothing.

Today I got an email from an unrelated website saying that my tariff for my pair (a very low US$ 0.05 per word) was too high, and they expected me to reduce it to US$ 0.03 or US$ 0.02 per word. So is that the reason I am not getti
... See more
Hey guys,

I am a very experienced translator. In December, due to the loss of a major client, I decided to go Pro in this website. I apply to jobs every single day. At first, I cut my tariff in 25%, now it's less than half, and yet, nothing.

Today I got an email from an unrelated website saying that my tariff for my pair (a very low US$ 0.05 per word) was too high, and they expected me to reduce it to US$ 0.03 or US$ 0.02 per word. So is that the reason I am not getting any jobs? US$ 0.03 per word would be something like 15% (or a 85% cut) of what I made before, and it's actually insufficient to survive where I live. McDonald's pays better.

Anyone out there is getting jobs through this website that are fairly paid? Or are you a member for different reason, for the sense of community, etc?

I appreciate the time and effort of mods and Proz people, but I am mostly interested in knowing other members' experiences!

Thank you!
Collapse

Caroline Delacroix
Caroline Delacroix
Local time: 18:41
French to German
+ ...
I am afraid... Jan 24, 2011

Hello Eloisa,

I am very afraid, because I have the same experience even you have... I do not know how to get jobs on ProZ.com, maybe there are reasons why, but I am not knowing which.

Kind regards,

Caroline

Lucia Leszinsky
Lucia Leszinsky
SITE STAFF
How to meet clients at ProZ.com Jan 24, 2011