Only members can post in this forum

Corporate Membership drive - devalues our investment in Platinum membership?
Thread poster: Comunican
Comunican
Comunican
United Kingdom
Local time: 08:55
Spanish to English
+ ...
May 28, 2008

I have been invited several times to join the new "Corporate Membership"

But I really don't think I qualify as a "corporate" - I am a freelancer who happens to have outsourced parts of a couple of jobs when I have become overloaded.

I think there is a flaw in Proz inviting so many people to join this new membership system (which I see as a kind of "Platinum Plus").

If they invite everybody who has ever outsourced - regardless of whether or not they are rea
... See more

But I really don't think I qualify as a "corporate" - I am a freelancer who happens to have outsourced parts of a couple of jobs when I have become overloaded.

I think there is a flaw in Proz inviting so many people to join this new membership system (which I see as a kind of "Platinum Plus").

If they invite everybody who has ever outsourced - regardless of whether or not they are really a company or "corporate" - then it just devalues the Corporate scheme itself while simualtenously pushing us "platinum members" down the pecking order, after we have already paid to be at the top of it!

I may have misunderstood - but it seems to me that those of us who have already made an investment in Proz membership will find it is devalued if there is a mad rush for Corporate membership.

What do others think?

[Edited at 2008-05-28 14:43]
Collapse

Ritu Bhanot
Ritu Bhanot  Identity Verified
France
French to Hindi
+ ...
Agree, but... May 28, 2008

then I have never outsourced anything through proz. Also, can corporate members really compete with us?

Normally, this shouldn't be possible because the jobs here are for freelancers (platinum or otherwise) and corporate members are normally outsourcers (job-posters).