Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Would you make a good language teacher?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Apr 3, 2018

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Would you make a good language teacher?".

View the poll results »

Angus Stewart
Angus Stewart  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 23:18
Member (2011)
French to English
+ ...
Yes, I trained as a language teacher Apr 3, 2018

Prior to returning to University to retrain as a translator, I undertook an intensive month long training course to qualify as a language teacher. Initially my plan was to do some language teaching to supplement my translation work, but it didn't work out that way and in the end I never worked as a teacher. I think I would have made a good language teacher.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
I don't think so Apr 3, 2018

I thought so, many moons ago, in my young years I did like teaching and I gave private lessons for a while, but experience taught me that I have no patience at all for those who don’t put the effort in…

Jack Doughty
Jack Doughty  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Russian to English
+ ...
In memoriam
Class: No. One-to-one: yes. Apr 3, 2018

Experience in other fields has taught me I am not good at controlling numbers of people.
But I have been a language teach at BBC Monitoring, teaching the specific requirements of the job to new monitors, and I was considered good at that.

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 00:18
Spanish to English
+ ...
Used to be one Apr 3, 2018

I worked in TEFL for several years before getting into translation full-time. Depending on your criteria, I may or may not have been a "good" language teacher. In general, I think the students enjoyed my classes and some learnt more than others. Some were very appreciative and asked for private lessons after their courses had finished.