Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Do you have a job other than translation?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Aug 4, 2016

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Do you have a job other than translation?".

This poll was originally submitted by Silvia Di Profio. View the poll results »

Muriel Vasconcellos
Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:09
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Full-time translator Aug 4, 2016

That's what I said. I also write, but I seldom get paid for it. I wrote a memoir, but the royalties weren't much to write home about.

Natalie Soper
Natalie Soper  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 14:09
French to English
+ ...
Second job Aug 4, 2016

Since I'm quite new to freelancing, I have kept my second job as an usher at a theatre - a job that I've had for 9 years. It's only a few nights a week and I can choose which evenings to work, so it's quite handy (plus, you get to watch the shows!).

I am thinking of leaving soon, though...since starting up as a translator, I am enjoying working with the public less and less!

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
No, not any more... Aug 4, 2016

I am a full-time translator but I led a double (professional) life for many years…

Michael Harris
Michael Harris  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 15:09
Member (2006)
German to English
Full time Aug 4, 2016

and enjoying every day of it

Katrin Bosse (X)
Katrin Bosse (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Dutch to German
+ ...
I answered "full-time translator" ... Aug 4, 2016

... but I am also a single working mother of a minor without help from my parents or my daughter's father.

So, those are in fact two jobs, all things considered.

Ventnai
Ventnai  Identity Verified
Spain
German to English
+ ...
Transitioned Aug 4, 2016