https://www.proz.com/forum/poll_discussion/302173-poll_i_am_a_translator_based_in.html&phpv_redirected=1

Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: I am a translator based in...
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
May 18, 2016

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "I am a translator based in...".

This poll was originally submitted by HERLANIO FERNANDES. View the poll results »

Nikki Scott-Despaigne
Nikki Scott-Despaigne  Identity Verified
Local time: 16:48
French to English
Objective May 18, 2016

As this poll comes from site staff, I suppose that localisation stats are available and/or known. Is the aim of this poll to find out where those who answer polls are located?

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 15:48
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
I'm based in Europe May 18, 2016

I live in Portugal since September last year, before that I lived in Belgium for 30 years. All my professional life as a translator has been based in Europe. I was based in Africa (Angola) for a few years, but by then my translator's life hadn't started yet...

Marieke Schoutens (X)
Marieke Schoutens (X)
Netherlands
English to Dutch
+ ...
Travelling May 18, 2016

What about location independence?

Doan Quang
Doan Quang  Identity Verified
Vietnam
Local time: 21:48
English to Vietnamese
I am a translator based in Vietnam May 18, 2016

I am a translator based in Hanoi, Vietnam.

Hi everyone! Greetings from Vietnam

Katrin Bosse (X)
Katrin Bosse (X)  Identity Verified
Germany
Dutch to German
+ ...
Simple curiosity May 18, 2016

Nikki Scott-Despaigne wrote:

As this poll comes from site staff, I suppose that localisation stats are available and/or known. Is the aim of this poll to find out where those who answer polls are located?

You make it sound as if it were "the staff" who needs to know. That's not how I perceive it at all.