Poll: Have you attended any course to strengthen your expertise after you started working as a translator?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Sep 4, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Have you attended any course to strengthen your expertise after you started working as a translator?".

View the poll results »

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 11:46
Spanish to English
+ ...
No Sep 4, 2015

Too busy working and acquiring experience hands-on.

Julian Holmes
Julian Holmes  Identity Verified
Japan
Local time: 18:46
Member (2011)
Japanese to English
Yes Sep 4, 2015

Lots of factory visits and product orientation sessions in customer showrooms or training centers.

I'm a technical translator.

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
English to French
Other? Sep 4, 2015

Isn't it a "closed" question?
Logically, either you attended a course to strengthen your expertise after you started working as a translator (yes, my reply), or you haven't attended any course to strengthen your expertise after you started working as a translator (answer No).

I can't see any middle way.

Philippe

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 10:46
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Yes! Sep 4, 2015

When I worked in-house, translators were actively encouraged to learn as many official EU languages as one could. I attended Swedish and Greek courses, but soon discovered that learning those languages was a real struggle, so I decided to turn my attention to Italian and to keep on perfecting my other 3 source languages: French, English and Spanish.

I also went to lots of translation related seminars, conferences, workshops and experts meetings on topical issues like Fighting Povert
... See more