Poll: Do you feel that you will someday get bored of your job as a translator?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Aug 9, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Do you feel that you will someday get bored of your job as a translator?".

View the poll results »

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 11:47
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
No! Aug 9, 2015

I don\'t think so as it never happened so far and I have been translating full-time for over 30 years… Of course, sometimes I have to do stuff I don’t enjoy doing (administrative work) and some projects are more interesting than others, but overall the good bits far outweigh the boring or annoying ones!

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 12:47
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
No Aug 9, 2015

Not in this life.

Yetta Jensen Bogarde
Yetta Jensen Bogarde  Identity Verified
Denmark
Local time: 12:47
Member (2012)
English to Danish
+ ...
No Aug 9, 2015

But I might widen my areas of specialization, if I feel it becomes too monotonous.

Arabic & More
Arabic & More  Identity Verified
Jordan
Arabic to English
+ ...
No... Aug 9, 2015

It\'s not what I would consider a \"boring\" job.

Luiz Barucke
Luiz Barucke  Identity Verified
Brazil
Local time: 07:47
Spanish to Portuguese
+ ...
Maybe tired, not bored Aug 9, 2015

I don\\\'t believe I\\\'d be bored someday working with translation, with so many fields and subjects. Actually, I think it\\\'s very exciting. Maybe if someone works always with a same kind of translation... Not my case.

What worries me is getting tired, physically I mean. I won\\\'t be able to be in front of a computer 10-12 hours a day for the rest of my life. My back, neck, arms and eyes won\\\'t let me.

That\\\'s why I always try to raise my rates from time to time
... See more