Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Do you consider your age an advantage as a freelance translator?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jun 7, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Do you consider your age an advantage as a freelance translator?".

View the poll results »

Alexander Kondorsky
Alexander Kondorsky  Identity Verified
Russian Federation
Local time: 16:36
English to Russian
+ ...
It dependson age Jun 7, 2015

For most professions age is an advantages if it is between 30 and 35.

Muriel Vasconcellos
Muriel Vasconcellos  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 06:36
Member (2003)
Spanish to English
+ ...
Huh? Jun 7, 2015

I answered 'Other' because I've been a translator for more than 40 years and I can't remember when my age was a disadvantage. While I may have been more mentally agile when I was young, through experience I have "solved" most of the typical recurring issues, like differences between SVO and VSO structure and tough-to-translate words and phrases, so I can now draw on my reserves.

Potential clients like to see many years of experience, so in that sense advanced age is a benefit - ass
... See more
I answered 'Other' because I've been a translator for more than 40 years and I can't remember when my age was a disadvantage. While I may have been more mentally agile when I was young, through experience I have "solved" most of the typical recurring issues, like differences between SVO and VSO structure and tough-to-translate words and phrases, so I can now draw on my reserves.

Potential clients like to see many years of experience, so in that sense advanced age is a benefit - assuming that one has been translating all along.
Collapse

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 15:36
Spanish to English
+ ...
Yes Jun 7, 2015