Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Poll: Was being a translator or interpreter your first choice for your career?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Jan 25, 2015

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Was being a translator or interpreter your first choice for your career?".

This poll was originally submitted by Katja Schoone. View the poll results »

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 00:53
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
No Jan 25, 2015

It wasn't my first choice, but it will be my last for sure!

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 01:53
Spanish to English
+ ...
Other Jan 25, 2015

It might have been, but when I graduated with a degree in Russian and French, all the jobs available required signature of the UK's official secrets act, which I wasn't happy about. So, I took a few other jobs then got into TEFL... and after several years teaching in Spain I eventually ended up where I am today, working as a translator. It must have been my destiny.

Thayenga
Thayenga  Identity Verified
Germany
Member (2009)
English to German
+ ...
No Jan 25, 2015

It wasn't my first choice, but it will be one of the two last career choices.

Claire Cox
Claire Cox
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
Yes but... Jan 25, 2015

I knew I wanted to translate when I left university having spent my work placement abroad working as a proofreader in a translation agency, but I couldn't find a job in translation immediately. I was offered a place on a graduate scheme for a major UK bank, so accepted that, but soon realised it wasn't for me and carried on writing to local companies in the hope that they might have a need for a translator. I was very lucky to be called for interview to a company 5 minutes walk from my house, go... See more