Thread poster: Ryan Green
Ryan Green
Ryan Green  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 22:28
Portuguese to English
Feb 21, 2010

Hi all
I'm a newbie to Omega T and a client is asking me to create a TM for this project. I am clueless. Please help

Ryan

Eduardo García Soñanes
Eduardo García Soñanes
Mexico
Local time: 15:28
English to Spanish
Under File, Save translation memory Feb 21, 2010

Hello Ryan,

When you are in OmegaT, with your project open, just go to File, and there you will find the option to Save translation memory. The shortcut is Ctrl+S.

Now, go to the folder where the project files are and you will find a subfolder called tm. You will find the TM there; it has the extension tmx. That's the file your client wants.

Hope this helps
Eduardo García Soñanes

Didier Briel
Didier Briel  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 23:28
English to French
+ ...
It happens automatically Feb 21, 2010

rgreen wrote:
I'm a newbie to Omega T and a client is asking me to create a TM for this project. I am clueless. Please help

There's nothing specific to do to create a TM in OmegaT.

Either you're speaking of the internal TM of the project: it is created automatically when you create a project.

Or you're speaking of a TM to send to a client: it is created automatically each time you use Project/Create Translated Documents.

This is documented in the manual (press F1) in "Translation memories".

Didier

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Disagree strongly with Eduardo Feb 21, 2010

Eduardo García Soñanes wrote:
Now, go to the folder where the project files are and you will find a subfolder called tm. You will find the TM there; it has the extension tmx. That's the file your client wants.

No. The /tm/ folder is where the user puts his old TMs. OmegaT consults those TMs when getting fuzzy matches. But... OmegaT doesn't change or update any of the TMs in the /tm/ folder at all.