Thread poster: Jenny Nilsson
Jenny Nilsson
Jenny Nilsson  Identity Verified
Sweden
Local time: 01:53
English to Swedish
+ ...
Sep 26, 2019

A potential new client wants to know how many words I've translated in total as a translator. I have not kept track of this. I've worked in several software, online and offline, so I probably can't even guess the amount.

Is it common to count the words you have translated? Or have you encountered a client who wants to know?

Sandro Ruggeri Dulcet

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 00:53
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Yearly total of words Sep 26, 2019

I’ve been translating for over 30 years and I was asked that question for the first time some ten years ago, since then I make my total at the end of each year on the base of the total of words invoiced. It’s quite easy with an Excel spreadsheet.

Lincoln Hui
Lincoln Hui  Identity Verified
Hong Kong
Local time: 07:53
Chinese to English
+ ...
How many words have I translated? Sep 26, 2019

Do you remember how many pieces of bread you've eaten?

Samuel Murray
Samuel Murray  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Member (2006)
English to Afrikaans
+ ...
Some clients believe... Sep 26, 2019

jentranslation wrote:
A potential new client wants to know how many words I've translated in total as a translator.

Some clients believe translators keep track of all sorts of things, e.g. how many words for which and which end-clients, what various kinds of documents, and how many words of each, etc., etc. Well, most of us don't keep track of that. So, just estimate very broadly.

Kevin Fulton

Jenny Nilsson
Sweden
English to Swedish
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
Excel is easy and stuff ;) Sep 26, 2019

Teresa Borges wrote:

I make my total at the end of each year on the base of the total of words invoiced. It’s quite easy with an Excel spreadsheet.

Yeah, that'll work! Not looking forward to tallying it all up manually though.