Tina Delia
Tina Delia  Identity Verified
United Kingdom
Local time: 01:38
French to English
+ ...
Sep 7, 2019

Hello,

Yesterday, I was offered a job by a bureau, using Trados Studio 2019.

I was given a lump sum price for the job, which I accepted.

I got a last minute message from the project manager saying "please check 100% matches and please check names and figures against the source PDF".

I had accepted the job with the understanding that the 100% matches were not to be dealt with.

I am relatively new to discounts based on percentag
... See more
Hello,

Yesterday, I was offered a job by a bureau, using Trados Studio 2019.

I was given a lump sum price for the job, which I accepted.

I got a last minute message from the project manager saying "please check 100% matches and please check names and figures against the source PDF".

I had accepted the job with the understanding that the 100% matches were not to be dealt with.

I am relatively new to discounts based on percentage matches, but it would seem to me that when the whole document ultimately has to be checked, there is not much point in giving discounts for text analysis.

I would be grateful for advice and views on this.

Many thanks!
Collapse

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
@Tina Sep 7, 2019

What’s the point of using a CAT tool if you have to check a 100% match? If you’re asked to, then it means that that segment is but an 100% match!

Tina Delia
United Kingdom
French to English
+ ...
TOPIC STARTER
I fully agree. Sep 7, 2019

Thank you @Teresa! Just wanted to be sure I wasn’t missing something.

Silke Walter
Silke Walter  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 02:38
Member (2014)
English to German
Different opinion Sep 8, 2019

The PM asked you explicitly to check the 100% matches, so this is part of the contract and they would not ask for it if this would be not necessary.