The ethics of sample translations/Marketing yourself
Thread poster: Sara Freitas
Sara Freitas
Sara Freitas
France
Local time: 04:29
French to English
Jan 15, 2003

I am just getting started and have some questions about sample translations. The fact is that when agencies don\'t have a specific job in mind and are just looking to expand their translator pool, they often ask for a \"CV\" and samples. I agree with some other postings on the site I\'ve seen that say we are service providers NOT job applicants, and after looking around on some sites including Monster, where freelancers\' concerns are addressed, I think I need a little \"marketing package\" some... See more
I am just getting started and have some questions about sample translations. The fact is that when agencies don\'t have a specific job in mind and are just looking to expand their translator pool, they often ask for a \"CV\" and samples. I agree with some other postings on the site I\'ve seen that say we are service providers NOT job applicants, and after looking around on some sites including Monster, where freelancers\' concerns are addressed, I think I need a little \"marketing package\" somewhere between a personal CV and a full blown marketing campaign that I could send to agencies who request that. I was thinking of a one sheet CV-ish document (sort of like the ProZ translator pages) and a one page \"portfolio sheet\" with some samples. My main question is this...is it OK to use short (50 word for example) totally anonymous and decontextualized bits from past jobs without asking permission from the original customer? I want to put three short and very different bits on my portfolio sheet. I welcome any advice on this topic! Thanks!
[addsig]
Collapse

Rubén de la Fuente
Rubén de la Fuente  Identity Verified
English to Spanish
+ ...
it depends Jan 15, 2003