Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Soliciting direct clients - source or target language?
Thread poster: Joseph Schreiner
Joseph Schreiner
Joseph Schreiner
United States
Local time: 06:58
German to English
+ ...
May 31, 2014

Hello to all,

I am a part-time translator about to become a full-time translator. I believe that the next logical step for me is to make targeted solicitations to direct clients. My question is: Should I write my solicitations in the source language, or the target language?

I primarily translate technical/engineering German -> English, but I also do some French -> English. I would be writing emails offering my services to German and French companies. I believe it would
... See more
Hello to all,

I am a part-time translator about to become a full-time translator. I believe that the next logical step for me is to make targeted solicitations to direct clients. My question is: Should I write my solicitations in the source language, or the target language?

I primarily translate technical/engineering German -> English, but I also do some French -> English. I would be writing emails offering my services to German and French companies. I believe it would be better to communicate with potential clients in their native languages, German and French, but I have some doubts about my ability to write convincing correspondence in German and French. I am certain that I could write grammatically correct correspondence in these languages, but I suspect that they will read a little oddly to native speakers. Naturally, I am confident in my ability to write appropriate correspondence in English. But this is not the first language of my potential clients.

I have thought about having standardized text translated from English -> German/French, and then basing my correspondence on that text. But I may not be able to customize this text in a targeted way for each potential client.