Thread poster: Catharine Cellier-Smart
Catharine Cellier-Smart
Catharine Cellier-Smart  Identity Verified
Reunion
Local time: 14:16
French to English
+ ...
Sep 1, 2012

[Not sure if this post is better off here or in the Business Issues part of the forum...]

I'm finally getting round to creating a custom e-mail address, and I wondered if anybody had any thoughts/experience about what makes a better impression, particularly with (potential) clients:
... See more
[Not sure if this post is better off here or in the Business Issues part of the forum...]

I'm finally getting round to creating a custom e-mail address, and I wondered if anybody had any thoughts/experience about what makes a better impression, particularly with (potential) clients:

[email protected]*
[email protected]
[email protected]

A lot of people will probably say "it doesn't matter!", but I think it does and I'd like to get it right.

*bearing in mind that as a freelancer I'm obviously the sole employee of my company.
Collapse

Sheila Wilson
Sheila Wilson  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:16
Member (2007)
English
+ ...
My vote Sep 1, 2012

Hello Catharine,

My personal choice would be your first option, because it links you as a person (i.e. your first name) with your company. People want to write to Catharine, not to "contact" or "CCS Translations" (or whatever you use as a trading name).

That's only my personal choice but, like you, I think it's important to get these little things right.

HTH

Sheila

Giles Watson
Giles Watson  Identity Verified
Italy
Local time: 12:16
Italian to English
In memoriam
Seconded Sep 1, 2012

I agree with Sheila.

Think about the format of the name, too. If you intend to expand, or give collaborators a dedicated email address, you would want to keep the same format for all employee and collaborator addresses. You could have:

catharine at ccs.com