Thread poster: Melisa Fernández Rosso
Melisa Fernández Rosso
Melisa Fernández Rosso  Identity Verified
Argentina
Local time: 01:35
English to Spanish
+ ...
Nov 24, 2011

This is my first year working as a translator and, as all beginners, I was open to work on any new project and sometimes worked for USD 0.01 per source word (for those massive texts about food, health, tourism, etc. that swarm the web).
The problem is that I took many frustrating jobs on Freelancer.com and after a year I am fed up with it (very low rates, disrespect for the work of a professional translator, disloyalty, lack of payment, etc.). Nonetheless, many employers look for cheap -aw
... See more
This is my first year working as a translator and, as all beginners, I was open to work on any new project and sometimes worked for USD 0.01 per source word (for those massive texts about food, health, tourism, etc. that swarm the web).
The problem is that I took many frustrating jobs on Freelancer.com and after a year I am fed up with it (very low rates, disrespect for the work of a professional translator, disloyalty, lack of payment, etc.). Nonetheless, many employers look for cheap -awful- translations through this and other web sites.
Is there a way to stop this web sites from providing this outrageous service that affect us as professionals? Is there a way to report them?
(I want to make clear that I have cancelled my registration on the web site mentioned above.)
Collapse

Emma Goldsmith
Emma Goldsmith  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 06:35
Member (2004)
Spanish to English
Question answered Nov 24, 2011

Melisa Fernández Rosso wrote:

I took many frustrating jobs on Freelancer.com ... Is there a way to stop this web sites from providing this outrageous service?

You have answered your own question. There is no way that these web sites will stop providing this outrageous service while there are translators who are willing to do "many jobs" for them.

[Edited at 2011-11-24 13:33 GMT]