Thread poster: David Jessop
David Jessop
David Jessop  Identity Verified
Laos
Spanish to English
+ ...
Sep 14, 2009

Hi!

I have been using my profile pic for a variety of marketing functions lately. A friend of mine saw it and he said, "Hey! Nice pic but you look like you're 18. I wouldn't hire you with that photo." The pic was taken when I was 24 and I'm 28 now....I have more than five years of experience in the industry so don't want to give the idea that I am a total n00b but also want to present a young and fresh face.

Please take a look and give me yer brutal truth...
See more
Hi!

I have been using my profile pic for a variety of marketing functions lately. A friend of mine saw it and he said, "Hey! Nice pic but you look like you're 18. I wouldn't hire you with that photo." The pic was taken when I was 24 and I'm 28 now....I have more than five years of experience in the industry so don't want to give the idea that I am a total n00b but also want to present a young and fresh face.

Please take a look and give me yer brutal truth.

Best wishes,
David
Collapse

Edward Vreeburg
Edward Vreeburg  Identity Verified
Netherlands
Local time: 01:04
Member (2008)
English to Dutch
+ ...
perhaps (funny question though) Sep 14, 2009

... you never know...

On the small version it does look like a school outfit a little, but on the larger picture in your profile you look a bit older.

Would it keep me from hiring you if you qualitfy for the job, I think not....

(Having said that I believe some people won't hire anybody that doesn't displaye their own portrait, but use a beachball, spiderman or some other other gif..)

===
Ed

Deborah do Carmo
Deborah do Carmo  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 00:04
Dutch to English
+ ...
Honestly? Sep 14, 2009

I've always thought you were around 21 in the picture.

On the other hand, I've also thought it's a nice picture -- you look earnest, yet easy to get along with, but yes, perhaps a little inexperienced.