Thread poster: translatingl (X)
translatingl (X)
translatingl (X)
Local time: 20:21
French to English
+ ...
Aug 6, 2006

Hello everyone!

Although I have been practising, using and loving languages for a very long time, I am new to the world of translation when it comes to make a living of it.

Having a literary background and a love for books (especially old ones), my dream is to make a career as a literary translator. I love writing and reading beautiful words and sentences.

However, it seems quite difficult to start and I am a bit "lost" I have to say.

Are ther
... See more
Hello everyone!

Although I have been practising, using and loving languages for a very long time, I am new to the world of translation when it comes to make a living of it.

Having a literary background and a love for books (especially old ones), my dream is to make a career as a literary translator. I love writing and reading beautiful words and sentences.

However, it seems quite difficult to start and I am a bit "lost" I have to say.

Are there any agencies specialized in literary translation? Or is it better to write to publishers?

Thanks for your replies.

Floriane
Collapse

Roomy Naqvy
Roomy Naqvy  Identity Verified
India
Local time: 00:51
English to Hindi
+ ...
going about things Aug 6, 2006

Try going to the American Literary Translators Association website. Try bodies like the local chapter of the P.E.N., they would publish a journal in your language... take the membership... subscribe to the journal of the national Academy of letters or a similar body in your country... Keep on getting noticed in the beginning... and then it should work out very well.

Roomy

Peter Linton (X)
Peter Linton (X)  Identity Verified
Local time: 19:21
Swedish to English
+ ...
Cold water Aug 6, 2006

I belong to an association of literary translators, and in my experience:

- publishers prefer to give work to well-established translators (so far, that has ruled me out).