Anabel Martínez  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 14:36
Member (2005)
English to Spanish
+ ...
Apr 28, 2005

Dear colleagues,

I've been a translator for several years, but I still can't get established in the area I best enjoy, which is literature. I wonder if those of you who got started like me also had problems, and if you could provide me with some tips....

Deschant
Deschant
Local time: 13:36
Less spoken languages Apr 28, 2005

I've seen in your profile that you are a native speaker of Catalan. I guess you'll have more chances of publishing a literary translation into Catalan than into Spanish. I'm a native speaker of both Galician and Spanish and I published my first (...and only) literary translation into Galician when I was still in college. It was a well-known Greek play that had already been translated dozens of times into Spanish, but never into Galician. I suppose I couln't ever dream of publishing that translat... See more
I've seen in your profile that you are a native speaker of Catalan. I guess you'll have more chances of publishing a literary translation into Catalan than into Spanish. I'm a native speaker of both Galician and Spanish and I published my first (...and only) literary translation into Galician when I was still in college. It was a well-known Greek play that had already been translated dozens of times into Spanish, but never into Galician. I suppose I couln't ever dream of publishing that translation into Spanish with the background I had then.Collapse

Latin_Hellas (X)
Latin_Hellas (X)
United States
Local time: 14:36
Italian to English
+ ...
Already covered, not easy Apr 28, 2005

Dear Anabel,

I think this very topic was discussed just a few weeks ago. The basic conclusion is that this is not a money-making sector, one does it for the glory (which is no small thing).