https://www.proz.com/forum/literature_poetry/215225-how_to_negotiate_reasonable_rates_for_a_book_translation.html&phpv_redirected=1

How to negotiate reasonable rates for a book translation?
Thread poster: Dorothy Schaps
Dorothy Schaps
Dorothy Schaps  Identity Verified
Germany
Local time: 17:31
Member (2010)
German to English
Jan 3, 2012

Hi everyone!

I've had a good look in the forums regarding this matter but haven't found anything definitive. Please redirect me if I've missed something!

I recently approached an author offering to translate his book (humorous non-fiction) into English. He said that the idea sounds great but that I should contact his publisher.

I am a total newbie in this area and I want to know what is the norm in this situation if the publisher gives me the go-ahead. I ma
... See more
Hi everyone!

I've had a good look in the forums regarding this matter but haven't found anything definitive. Please redirect me if I've missed something!

I recently approached an author offering to translate his book (humorous non-fiction) into English. He said that the idea sounds great but that I should contact his publisher.

I am a total newbie in this area and I want to know what is the norm in this situation if the publisher gives me the go-ahead. I may be being too optimistic but forewarned is forearmed!