Some basic questions on a literary translation from a newbie
Thread poster: hughehreth
hughehreth
hughehreth
Local time: 06:29
English to French
Apr 24, 2009

Hi, sorry if these questions are a little basic...

I may have a chance to translate a 19th century literary work from French into English. I am a recent graduate of a CIUTI school and have worked for two years as a translator in a finance company, although I prefer literary material. Here are my questions:

1) The source is about 120,000 words. This seems like it would take me a while to translate. How long would you ask for (or do you think would be reasonable to ask fo
... See more
Hi, sorry if these questions are a little basic...

I may have a chance to translate a 19th century literary work from French into English. I am a recent graduate of a CIUTI school and have worked for two years as a translator in a finance company, although I prefer literary material. Here are my questions:

1) The source is about 120,000 words. This seems like it would take me a while to translate. How long would you ask for (or do you think would be reasonable to ask for) to do this?

2) How much would one charge for something like this? I usually ask for 12 euro cents a word. Would that be too much? Too little?

I REALLY appreciate your help!
thanks
Hugh
Collapse

Lingua 5B
Lingua 5B  Identity Verified
Bosnia and Herzegovina
Member (2009)
English to Croatian
+ ...
A few inputs May 1, 2009

Hi Hugh,

There are special contracts for such work, where you are assigned some percentage from the sales of the translation copies, because you basically created the English version.

You must see about it with the publisher.

0.12 USD is too little... 0.12 EUR is acceptable.

It depends on the overall project parameters, for example, what the translation will be used for..? I presume it's a classic work that won't be launched into a broad popul
... See more
Hi Hugh,