Thread poster: sozana (X)
sozana (X)
sozana (X)
Local time: 14:56
English to Arabic
+ ...
Nov 3, 2008

Hello All,
I'm a student of translation and i'm going to start a study concerned in translation intertextuality in Arabic poetry as a requirement of graduation. in fact, i'm so confused and dont know how to begin, so i need the help from those who are interested in this subject or anyone can show me the right way and guide me well. i need to know how this subject should be studied, how it should be discussed and how i should analyse the data and discuss it. tell me please if it is right to
... See more
Hello All,
I'm a student of translation and i'm going to start a study concerned in translation intertextuality in Arabic poetry as a requirement of graduation. in fact, i'm so confused and dont know how to begin, so i need the help from those who are interested in this subject or anyone can show me the right way and guide me well. i need to know how this subject should be studied, how it should be discussed and how i should analyse the data and discuss it. tell me please if it is right to study the effect produced on the source reader of the intertextual expressions in comparison to that produced of the target reader of the translated same intertextual expressions.
any suggestions or ideas are welcomed.
thank you all
Collapse

Tetyana Dytyna
Tetyana Dytyna  Identity Verified
Belgium
Local time: 12:56
Member (2008)
English to Ukrainian
+ ...
published research on the problem Nov 4, 2008

Sozana

Intertextuality is a promising direction in translation studies. I once wrote a master's paper on it for my university.

Here are some of the sources that I used. They provide quite good insights into the problem of intertextuality in general and in Tr St in particular:

Leppihalme, R. (1997) Culture Bumps: An empirical approach to the translation of allusions. Clevedon: Multilingual Matters.

J. Clayton and E. Rothstein, eds. Influence
... See more
Sozana