"Army speak" in German - appropriate resources?
Thread poster: Soluna
Soluna
Soluna
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:59
English to German
May 5, 2008

I wonder whether anybody can give me some tips. A friend of mine has written a play and within the play are a couple of scenes that need to be in German. He asked me to help with the translation of these pages from English into German. The scene is about an officer talking to his subordinate. Now I am a translator of mainly technical and business related documents and have never been in the army myself (thank God!) so I don't really have any knowledge of how these guys talk to each other! I want... See more
I wonder whether anybody can give me some tips. A friend of mine has written a play and within the play are a couple of scenes that need to be in German. He asked me to help with the translation of these pages from English into German. The scene is about an officer talking to his subordinate. Now I am a translator of mainly technical and business related documents and have never been in the army myself (thank God!) so I don't really have any knowledge of how these guys talk to each other! I want to help my friend with this and would appreciate any suggestions where I could find appropriate ressources (preferably free as I am not going to be paid for this) to help me get the right tone with the translation.

Thanks!

[Subject edited by staff or moderator 2008-05-05 14:30]
Collapse

Tina Colquhoun
Tina Colquhoun  Identity Verified
Danish to English
+ ...
The army May 5, 2008

I can only suggest that you try to find someone who was in the army in question at the time in question who would be willing to check your translation.