"(noun) list" ... is (noun) singular or plural?
Thread poster: Jason Shim
Jason Shim
Jason Shim  Identity Verified
South Korea
Local time: 04:29
English to Korean
+ ...
Mar 24, 2013

Dear colleagues,
Hi. I've been a translator for 10 years, and this is one question that always keeps me wondering, so I thought I'd ask what other translators think.

I'm currently working on a software GUI.
A recurring term is "( ) List"

The ( ) can be an Object / Folder or any other noun.

For example,

Grocery List / Groceries List
Guest List / Guests List
Object List / Objects List
Customer List / Customers Li
... See more
Dear colleagues,
Hi. I've been a translator for 10 years, and this is one question that always keeps me wondering, so I thought I'd ask what other translators think.

I'm currently working on a software GUI.
A recurring term is "( ) List"

The ( ) can be an Object / Folder or any other noun.

For example,

Grocery List / Groceries List
Guest List / Guests List
Object List / Objects List
Customer List / Customers List
Client List / Clients List

Assuning that the ( ) is not a person, such as a user, and using an apastrophe, and using "List of (pl. noun)" are out of the question, what do you see as correct? Singular or plural?

I feel that using singular is incorrect, since a list contains more than one item.
But then, Object List feels more natural Objects List at times.

I'd love to hear your thoughts on this matter.

Is plural correct if being strictly gramatical, or perhaps are both accepted.

Thanks.

[Edited at 2013-03-24 07:29 GMT]
Collapse

Ambrose Li
Ambrose Li  Identity Verified
Canada
Local time: 15:29
English
+ ...
Singular Mar 24, 2013

I’d use singular for all these cases.

[Edited at 2013-03-24 08:08 GMT]

Rachel Capie

Tomasz Chyrzyński
Tomasz Chyrzyński  Identity Verified
Poland
Local time: 21:29
Polish to English
+ ...
Singular Mar 24, 2013