Thread poster: Eduardo Bertrand
Eduardo Bertrand
Eduardo Bertrand
Mexico
Local time: 19:30
English to Spanish
+ ...
Sep 1, 2017

As a translator, I have to work with birth certificates and have not found a concrete answer to this question:
Next, to the child section comes the parent section, but here is the dilemma:
Literally, you read "Father / Parent" or "Mother / Parent", if you look up these words meanings, almost appear as synonyms, with almost no clue of how to differentiate them.
Up to now I always translate "Father or Mother" as "Progenitor" in Spanish and "Father" as "Padre" and "Mother" as "M
... See more
As a translator, I have to work with birth certificates and have not found a concrete answer to this question:
Next, to the child section comes the parent section, but here is the dilemma:
Literally, you read "Father / Parent" or "Mother / Parent", if you look up these words meanings, almost appear as synonyms, with almost no clue of how to differentiate them.
Up to now I always translate "Father or Mother" as "Progenitor" in Spanish and "Father" as "Padre" and "Mother" as "Madre".
The logic to support this translation is that "Progenitor" is the biological father/mother while "Padre /Madre", suits better as Legal Custodians, not biologically related to the child, but have been responsible for his growth.
Does my reasoning make sense to someone? Or even better can somebody tell me is it is linguistical support for my translation.
Best Regards and thanks in advance for your help.
Collapse

Frank Zou
Frank Zou  Identity Verified
China
Local time: 09:30
Member (2016)
Chinese to English
+ ...
No idea Sep 1, 2017

I have no idea what you are talking about.

Michael Newton
Michael Newton  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 21:30
Japanese to English
+ ...
Father/Mother vs. Parent Sep 1, 2017

What about "padre o madre" ?

mariealpilles
mariealpilles  Identity Verified
France
Local time: 02:30
Member (2014)
English to French
+ ...